The Pen Pal Collab! (ft. Mahriya @ My Bookish Life)

Hullo inhabitants of planet Earth (or any other planet you find accommodating)!

Today is a special day featuring a very special person. What’s the occasion you ask? Well, no, it’s not exactly a birthday celebration, no.

Mahriya from MyBookishLife and I decided to finally collaborate together (which is, like, the greatest thing to ever happen to little Ranter here) and let the world witness a whirlwind of thoughts that was never before seen. Mahriya is one of the most wonderful, sweet and adorable bloggers I’ve ever had the honour of knowing, and this collab is as special as it is epic simply because that lady right there is phenomenal.

Besides, it’s about one of our all-time favourite books, and how can one honour his favourite book in any way other than write about it? With that said, we decided to think up of a prompt with the book in mind, and here’s what we came up with! The prompt is Kites, in honour of The Kite Runner, one of the greatest books I’ve ever read. And since today also happens to be Opposites Day (did you know that?), I’m posting Mahriya’s answer and she’s posting mine.

 

So here’s Mahriya’s answer, be sure to check out her blog for its epic and great content! No kidding, that girl has so much creativity stored in there it’s a tad too phenomenal. And while you are at it, you may find my answer to the prompt and perhaps you’d want to give it a go? Because I know it won’t be so tempting after you check out what Mahriya has written (she blew my mind away with the description, God). But it’d be awesome of you to check it out~


Kite Prompt.png

The kite. There it lay, drunkenly resting on the blue suitcase, still tired from the days when it used to be dragged around and ripped up in the never-ending sky. Those days were over. It had been many years since the Kite had felt the harsh wind of the world or the rough tiny hands of a human. And today, it would be stuffed away, taken to a different place altogether.

It was no longer elegant and beautiful as it had once been. Its edges has been folded by the hard walls of the cupboard and its string was limp whilst the actual kite itself was dead and silent. It hadn’t been used in years and the Kite couldn’t quite remember how the fresh fluffy clouds felt and  how the calm, blue sky looked. Not anymore. Now the Kite only knew of the the dark scary inside of the cupboard and the lonely days to come.
They had called the Kite ‘The Monster’, once. Its humongous, colourful face would roar in the wind and its tail would swirl around like a fire dancing. It would soar and rip through the air, with envious faces trailing behind.
Its new home would probably be in a dump far away from any contests or child. Far away from any attention or love. Far away from life and the world. It was no longer a champion, it was just a broken toy that no-one wanted to touch.
Children didn’t play anymore, only stared at screens and flat objects that they carried around with them. There were no annual Kite contests, only apps and games online.
There were no Kites, only broken toys.

There were no Children, only addicts.
There were no Kite Runners. Not anymore.

by mahriya.png


Oh God. Oh God. Was that fantabulous or what? Personally speaking, I’d like to sign up for writing lessons from her because it was just that good. Agreed?

Be sure to check out my answer to the prompt over at Mahriya’s blog, and while you’re at it, give her a hearty follow because that’s one of those decisions you won’t ever regret~

Tell me your thoughts on the prompt and its answers below! You know I love hearing (reading, really) them!

 

Love,

Midnight Ranter (aka Ayaka)

6 thoughts on “The Pen Pal Collab! (ft. Mahriya @ My Bookish Life)

  1. SO GLAD to see it live. Glad you used the graphics! (sorry, they were SOOO last minute). AND I AM SO HAPPY to see that you LOVED IT. Writing lessons for me? Don’t you mean that YOU NEED TO TEACH ME HOW TO WRITE SINCE I’M SUCH A STUPID (but cute, as you say) PINEAPPLE?!

    Liked by 1 person

    • If THAT was last minute, I can’t even begin to imagine what a leisured one would look like because this is quite much EPIC (I think I used this word like a bazillion times in this post XD) And I recall omitting the ‘stupid’ from the pineapple because you’re every word its opposite, so believe me, it’s been an honour, pleasure and great fun working with you and I can’t wait to have more collabs with you in the future (IF you want to too!)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha. I was out for the whole day yesterday so that’s why I had to do the graphics and everything on the 23rd and send such short emails. YOU ARE TOO SWEEEEEEEEEEEEEETTTTTTTT!1 IT WAS AN HONOUR TO WORK WITH YOUUUUUUU (Please don;t compliment me back with a praise which is just impossible to be true and that I HAVE NO IDEA how to answer because you’re too nice and I don’t know how to top that).
        Also, do you remember in our original plans (in our 1st few emails) we alsp planned on doing a bookish discussion together as welll as the prompt but we’d focuse on the prompt first. Afteryou rose back from the dead, I think we forgot about it. I think WE’LL HAVE TO COLLAB SOON AGAIN (since you are so awesome to work with) but SOON ‘may’ be ‘May 2017’ since I’ve got too many posts scheduled this Feb.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh you’re right about that; turns out, being revived comes with its fair share of Amnesia. But I definitely look forward to our next collab, whenever it is on the long run. And believe me, I’m not good with compliments in the least bit (I literally turn into a mumbling tomato upon receiving one, and stutter in the attempt of giving one), so I have no idea what you’re talking about xD

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

