Attachments– Book Review

Hullo most wonderful readers,

Let me just start this one by saying this: I was absolutely and horridly late to this ride. This book? This book was phenomenally romantic, sweet and real.

And before I even begin on the book itself, let me just (I’ll have a lot of ‘just‘s on this post–bear with me, I’m on full Fangirl/Ranter mode at the moment) say that I’ve taken one serious liking to Rainbow Rowell’s books and plots. Normally, in books, there’s this moment where you know that the characters are in love– that it has happened. But in real life, and in most of her books, there’s no moment of revelation, love just smooths over the characters and the plot like a fresh wave and you don’t feel the hit, no, you’re swept along with it. That’s one thing I truly love about her books. They’re real.

Okay, now onto the epic-ness:

Every woman wants a man who’ll fall in love with her soul as well as her body.

Meet Lincoln– a kind, sweet and cute IT guy working the night-shifts at a newspaper called The Courier. His actual job?

It’s to read the employees’ email exchanges and warn them when their email content contain flagged words (Swear words and the like).

Now for a guy like Lincoln, this job is just terrible. Sitting there, working through the late night, alone in a dimly lit grey room with nothing better to do than read people’s emails sounds about as depressing and creepy as his worst nightmares.

But then something catches his interest– not something, but someone. Two ladies, exchanging emails about their daily, if not comical, lives. He’s instantly drawn to how funny and genuine the two best friends were, and especially how smart and kind one of them was.

But the deeper he fell into that snooping-into-emails  pit (even though it’s technically his job) he couldn’t help himself. He has become so engrossed, involved and in love that every time he promises himself to stop reading their emails, his feelings just end up getting the best of him.

So what could he do when he’s fallen for someone he’s never seen before? Will he ever see the face behind the personality that enchanted him? And if he does, will she believe in love before first sight? Will she dismiss the fact that he’s crossed one-too-many lines? Or will Lincoln never get his happily-ever-after for what he’s done after all?

There are moments when you can’t believe something wonderful is happening. And there are moments when your entire consciousness is filled with knowing absolutely that something wonderful is happening.

This book, set in late 1999’s, is a story of wit, humour, friendship and true love. It tests whether love could exist for character, soul and mind rather than looks and what follows. It’s light-hearted yet deep in ways only true love can be, and I realised, after finishing the novel, just how much I’ve enjoyed and loved it.

 

You’ll definitely be rooting for Lincoln in every page, though, because he’s set out for something every one of us wants: a love that bloomed for the mind and not just your eye’s light.

 

I’m really glad I finally got to read this one. And if I hadn’t written a review for it, I wouldn’t have gotten my closure and would’ve never moved on to any other book.

 

And did you read Attachments yet? Will you? If you did, did you love it as much as I did? Give me your thoughts below, I love reading them!

 

Signed,

Midnight Ranter (aka Ayaka)

8 thoughts on “Attachments– Book Review

  1. I love everything that Rainbow Rowell writes! This book was so incredibly sweet and adorable. I loved Lincoln going to dungeons and dragons. I loved the hilarious girly conversation between the two best friends. (The whole beer/carb conversation made me laugh.) You make me want to pull out my copy and start rattling off some of my favorite quotes!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This book has been on my TBR for ages, just sitting there waiting for me to pick it up. But your review makes me want to grab it and read it NOW! I’ve read two of Rowell’s books before and definitely enjoyed them. 😀 Love you review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

