Within my grasp

The story behind what you may read (please do actually have a look): 

My best friend in the world was somehow taken away from me. She had to leave the country where the two of us resided and go back to her hometown, and she never told me about any of it– not before she was already at the airport, leaving forever. As she left me that last message, though, she wrote me a few verses of what she had felt hiding the possibility of her leaving from me. How she’d felt when we’d all (in the class) talked about doing activities later or at some other time while she knew that she may not become a part of it. What she wrote, as a poem, touched me to tears, and I responded to it with one not half as good but brimmed up with feelings nonetheless. So I thought I’d share it here too, just to let anyone out there know that friendship is a value humans are too lucky to be able to fathom. 

 

“I stay to write a reply,
For she is one I’ll deeply miss,
And I seriously know that I’ll cry.
True we didn’t start out right,
But what’s friendship without ups and downs?
Her place in my heart is deep,
And I want to have it there as a safe-keep,
Not longing for her as a friend is just too bad,
That I’m afraid I’ll find her even in my sleep.

Sleepless nights will be my usual routine,
And I know that a day with light without her is just too shallow,
Simply because I know that my words would be nothing but hollow.
I thought I was really social and outgoing,
But seriously? Is life so fine that it’ll give me a chance to say a ‘hello’?
Afraid it might leave a scar I say,
Kindly, please don’t take her away!
She’s a friend I really trust,
Without her, my smile might just rust.

Able to make me laugh in my gloomiest moments,
Reads my mind without speech,
Always in sync with my every thought.
Yep, that’s her, a friend I cherish deeply and whom I once sought.
Without her, life won’t be as it ought.
But I really like that friend of mine, and wish for time to stop passing by,
Because I want those good times to be right back,
Tightly bound for me to clasp,
Right within my grasp.”

–Midnight Ranter

10 thoughts on “Within my grasp

    • Exactly! Seeing someone slip from your grasp (no pun intended) is a bit painful at times, but I think that ‘slipping’ doesn’t equal being lost or gone. Maybe we’re strong enough to hold on. Maybe the distance is quite overrated. At least, that’s what I tell myself.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

